Nominations open for 2023 Young Leader of the Year Award

by | Feb 1, 2023 | 0 comments

AIA Canada is now accepting nominations for its 2023 Young Leader of the Year Award.

The Young Leader of the Year Award is designed to recognize auto care industry professionals under the age of 45, whose leadership and involvement in the industry, their community and with AIA Canada goes above and beyond.

About the award 

The YPA Committee presents the Young Leader of the Year Award annually to a young auto care industry professional who demonstrates: 

  • leadership and innovation
  • industry contribution 
  • volunteer work with AIA Canada 
  • volunteer work in their community 

A panel comprised of AIA Canada board members, division chairs, past award recipients and the YPA Committee will select the winner of this year’s award. 

The award presentation will take place at the AIA Canada National Conference in April.

Please submit nominations no than later Monday, March 13, 2023.

Recognition is a fantastic retention tool. Taking time to show a young leader within your organization that their contribution is both recognized and appreciated is an easy and effective way to demonstrate your commitment to them as an employer.

The Young Leader of the Year Award, presented by AIA Canada’s Young Professionals in the Aftermarket (YPA) Committee, recognizes the efforts of such outstanding individuals.

Award criteria

Who can you nominate? Any young leader or manager in your organization who has excelled in one or more of the following areas:

  • leadership
  • innovation
  • industry contribution
  • volunteer work with AIA Canada
  • volunteer/community work outside of the Association

Selection process

The applications are put forth to a voting panel that consists of AIA Canada Board Members, AIA Canada Division Chairs, and the YPA Committee. A final decision will be rendered no later than Friday, March 24, 2023.

The winning recipient and the nominator will be notified by the YPA Committee Chairperson by phone or email. Candidates that are not selected will be put forward for consideration in the following years up to a maximum of three years.

Award presentation

Award recipients shall receive an etched trophy.

Contact information

AIA Canada Events

Past Young Leader of the Year Award recipients

2022 Graham Jeffery, Canadian Tire Corporation

2021 Kathryn Jones, Dorman Products

2020 Derek Suen, Dorman Products

2019 Paul Prochilo, Simplicity Car Care

2018 Shannon Spano, Wakefield Canada Inc.

2017 Jason Best, Spectra Premium Industries

2016 Keith Gordon, Delphi Products & Service Solutions

2015 Michael Macaluso, CARSTAR Automotive

2014 Miguel Angers, Uni-Select

2013 Brad Morris, Grote Industries

2012 Linda Donnini, Uni-Select

2011 Jeff VandeSande, Bestbuy Distributors

2010 Eric Boutin, CARQUEST Canada

2009 Zara Wishloff, Warehouse Services Inc.

2008 David Vaughan, Eastern Automotive Warehousing


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *